Rick E Winningham

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Rick E Winningham has served as Chairman of the board of directors since July 2013. He has served as our Chief Executive Officer since our spin-off from Theravance, Inc. (now INVA) in June 2014. From October 2001 to August 2014, Mr. Winningham served as Chief Executive Officer of Theravance, Inc., where he also served as Chairman of the board of directors from April 2010 to October 2014.

From 1997 to 2001 he served as President, Bristol Myers Squibb Oncology/Immunology/Oncology Therapeutics Network (OTN) and also as President of Global Marketing from 2000 to 2001. In addition to operating responsibility for U.S. Oncology/Immunology/OTN at Bristol Myers Squibb (BMS), Mr. Winningham also had full responsibility for Global Marketing in the Cardiovascular, Infectious Disease, Immunology, Oncology/Metabolics and GU/GI/Neuroscience therapeutic areas. Over a fifteen year period beginning in 1986 with BMS and its predecessor, Bristol Myers, Mr. Winningham held various U.S. and global management positions.

Mr. Winningham is a member of Biotechnology Industry Organization's board of directors and serves on the Health Section Governing Board Standing Committee on Reimbursement. Mr. Winningham served as a Director on the board of directors of the California Healthcare Institute ("CHI") from November 2011 to March 2015. He was elected Chairman of CHI in January 2014, a position he held until CHI merged with Baybio to become the California Life Sciences Association ("CLSA") in March 2015. Mr. Winningham is on the board of CLSA, and served as its chairman from March 2015 to November 2015. He is a member of the board of directors of Jazz Pharmaceuticals plc., a public biopharmaceutical company, and served as a member of the board of directors of Retrotope Inc, a private biopharmaceutical company, from February 2021 until January 2022, and OncoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc. from June 2015 until April 2019.

Mr. Winningham holds an M.B.A. from Texas Christian University and a B.S. degree from Southern Illinois University.

Rhonda F. Farnum

Senior Vice President, Commercial and Medical Affairs

Rhonda F. Farnum joined Theravance Biopharma in July 2018 as Vice President, Sales and Marketing, where she is responsible for commercial execution of Theravance Biopharma’s branded products, including sales, marketing, and managed markets.

Prior to joining Theravance Biopharma, Mrs. Farnum led marketing efforts for multiple products in the Amgen oncology business unit. Prior to Amgen, she served as the head of the Hematology Business Unit at Onyx Pharmaceuticals. Prior to Onyx Pharmaceuticals, she served in increasing marketing and sales leadership roles within the commercial divisions of Pharmacyclics and Genentech. Mrs. Farnum’s leadership has contributed to the launches and commercial successes of brands including Avastin, Tarceva, Herceptin, Rituxan, Imbruvica and Kyprolis.

Mrs. Farnum earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Georgia in Physics and Pre-Med, graduating Magna Cum Laude, and in addition has completed programs and boarded registration in Nuclear Medicine Technology and Nursing.

Richard A. Graham

Senior Vice President, Research and Development

Richard A. Graham, Ph.D.,  was appointed Senior Vice President, Development in August 2020, where he is responsible for leading the progression of late-stage clinical assets through regulatory filing and approval. Since joining Theravance Biopharma, Dr. Graham has served as Vice President of Clinical Pharmacology, and more recently, as Vice President of Clinical Development.

Prior to joining Theravance Biopharma, Dr. Graham spent five years at GlaxoSmithKline working in the area of Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics, seven years at Genentech/Roche as a clinical pharmacologist and Global Development Team Leader, and one year at Onyx Pharmaceuticals where he headed Translational Medicine. In his nearly 20-year career, he worked across all stages of drug development and all major therapeutic areas.

Dr. Graham received his Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Biochemistry from Iowa State University and his Doctorate of Philosophy degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.